-Themes of Seoul

(Cultural Heritage/ Landmarks/Savor Seoul/Experience Traditional Culture/Shopping/Local Shopping/Entertainment)


[ Authorship-Korea Tourism Organization ]

Landmarks

There are attractions that you should definitely visit, if you a re to say that you have traveled Seoul. They include historic sites that have represented Seoul for years such as Seoul Station and Sungnyemun gate, as well as visually impressive spots such as N Seoul Tower and 63city. A commemorative photograph taken at one of these places will refresh the memory of your visit to Seoul.

>Lotte World--(17)




This is a complex that incorporates a theme park, hotel, department store, duty free shop, museum and ice rink. Among them, Lotte World adventure is the world's largest indoor theme park with the theme of a miniature global village. Visitors can enjoy various rides as well as over 70 splendid performances and events.
Subway line no.2 Jamsil station, exit no.4
09:30-23:00



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Lotte Hotel World - www.lottehotelworld.com
@. Jamsil Tourist Hotel - www.jshotel.co.kr
@. Lake Hotel - www.hotellake.co.kr
Plex Hotel - www.plexhotel.co.kr
@. Karak Hotel - www.hotelkarak.com

*Guesthouse
Vision Guesthouse - www.visionguesthouse.kr

>63city--(16)




This is a high-rise landmark building that represents Hangang river. Sky art, where visitors can enjoy spectacular views and exhibitions, is the highest art gallery in the world. In addition, you can visit the Wax Museum where wax figures of worldwide celebrities are displayed, Seaworld aquarium or IMAX Theater that shows 3D movies, and watch Marionette, a B-boy musical.
Subway line no.1 Daebang station, exit no.6 / line no.5 Yeouinaru station, exit no.4



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Conrad Hotel - www.conradseoul.co.kr
@. Lexington Hotel - www.thelexington.co.k
@. Yoido Hotel - www.yoidohotel.co.kr
@. Marriott Executive Apartments - www.measeoul.com
Kobos Hotel - www.koboshotel.com
M Hotel - www.hotelm.co.kr
Benhur Hotel - www.hotelbenhur.co.k
Three Seven Stay Hotel - www.three7stay.com

>Former Seoul Railway station--(18)




The modern structure built in 1920s used to be the center of transportation that linked Seoul and cities all over Korea. After undergoing remodeling, it is currently being used as a cultural complex called Culture Station Seoul 284. Here, diverse cultural events are held that include exhibitions of sculptures by comtemporary Korean artists, the showing of art films, band concerts and artists' lectures.
Subway line no.1,4 Seoul station exit no.2,3
Weekdays 11:30-19:00, Weekends 11:00-20:00 (Closed on Mons)



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Millennium Hilton Hotel - www.hilton.co.kr
@. Manu Hotel - www.hotelmanu.com
@. Ramada Hotel Namdaemun - www.ramadapnp.com
@. Irene Hotel / Irene City Hotel- www.hotelirene.co.kr

*Residence
@. Vabien Suites I - www.vabiensuite.com
@. Vabien Suites II - www.vabien2.com
@. Fraser Place - www.fraserplace.co.kr

*Guesthouse
K-pop Guesthouse - ss.kpophouse.co.kr
Maru Guesthouse - www.koreaguesthouse.or.kr
SS Guesthouse - www.ssguesthouse.co.kr
Bangnang Hostel - www.bangranghostel.com
Namdaemun Guesthouse - www.guesthouseseoul.kr

>Worldcup Park--(22)




This was built in commemoration of the 2002 Korea-Japan World Cup. The site used to be a landfill, but now it has been turned into an ecological park with wetlands, flower beds, a yacht field, an observatory, etc. It consists of five parks with different themes, including Pyeonghwa park, Noeul park, Nanjicheon park, and Nanji Hangang park.
Subway line no.6 World Cup stadium station, exit no.1



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Stanford Hotel - www.stanfordseoul.com

>Cheongwadae (The Presidential Blue House)--(23)




It is the executive office and official residence of the President of the Republic of Korea. It is open to th e public from Tuesday to Friday, but visitors are restricted from going inside the buildings, where state affairs are officially handled. It takes around 1 hour and 30 minutes to tour outside the buildings on foot.
Subway line no.3 Gyeongbokgung station, exit no.3



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Somerset Palace Hotel - www.somersetpalace.co.kr
@. Koreana Hotel - www.koreanahotel.com
@. Aventree Hotel - www.aventreehotel.com

*Guesthouse
Hangul Guesthouse - www.hangulhouse.com
Seoul Hostel Center - www.seoulhostel.net
Duri House - www.durihouse.kr

*Residence
Samcheongdong minbak Guesthouse - www.minbak1.com
Raon Hanok Guesthouse - www.raonhouse34.com
Ran`s Home - www.ranshome.com
Kimchi Guesthouse - www.kimchiguesthouse.co.kr
Han Guesthouse - www.한게스트하우스.kr
Ohbok Guesthouse - www.ohbok.com
Go Woon Dang Guesthouse - www.gowoondang.com

>N Seoul Tower--(15)




Namsan Mt. is the best location from which to gaze down on the city of Seoul. N Seoul Tower is a 236.7m-high tower - the 10th highest tower in the world - built on the mountain. Visitors can be whisked up to the observatory by a high-speed elevator, visit the Teddy Bear museum or dine at the restaurant in the sky lounge that revolves 360 degrees.
Namsan yellow buses No 2&3 that circle the mountain or the Namsan Cable Car
Observatory: 10:00-23:00 (Fri, Sat: 10:00-24:00)
Restaurant: 11:00-23:00
Teddy Bear Museum: 10:00-23:00



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Han Suite - www.hansuites.com
@. Metro Hotel - www.metrohotel.co.kr
@. Lotte Hotel - www.lottehotel.com
@. Ibis Ambassador Myeongdong - ibis.ambatel.com/myeongdong
@. Sejong Hotel - www.sejong.co.kr
@. Skypark Hotel 1 - www.skyparkhotel.com
@. Skypark Hotel 2 - www.skyparkhotel.com
@. Skypark Hotel 3 - www.skyparkhotel.com
@. Skypark Hotel Central - www.skyparkhotel.com
@. Savoy Hotel - www.savoyhotel.co.kr
@. Royal Hotel - www.royal.co.kr
@. J Hill Hotel - www.jhill.kr
@. Prince Hotel - www.princeseoul.co.kr
@. Pacific Hotel - www.thepacifichotel.co.kr

*Guesthouse
Nana Residence - www.nanaresidence.com
Green Residence - www.seoulgreen.co.kr
K-Pop Resedence - md.kpophouse.co.kr
EO Residence - www.residenceeo.com
@. Seoul Youth Hostel - www.seoulyh.go.kr

*Residence
Namsan Guesthouse - www.namsanguesthouse.co.kr
Jin Guesthouse - www.jinguesthouse.com
Myeongdong Guesthouse - www.mdguesthouse.com
New Myeondong Guesthouse - www.newmyeongdong.com
YUN Guesthouse - www.yunguest.com
ZaZa Backpackers - www.zazabackpackers.com
J-honor Guesthouse - www.j-honor.com
Crib49 Guesthouse - www.crib49.com
Happy Garden Guesthouse - www.hpgarden.com
Mama Guesthouse - www.seoulmama.com
IB Vile Guesthouse - www.ibville.com
B my Guesthouse - www.bmyguesthouse.com
EO Residence - www.residenceeo.com

>Gwanghwamun Square--(19)




This is a 550m-long, 34m-wide square constructed at Sejong-ro in 2009. Statues of the two most respected historical figurea in Korea - King Sejong the Great and Admiral Yi Sun-Shin - stand in the square. 2-1 Haechi Madang A resting space at Gwanghwamun Station that was designed for tourists
05:00-01:00 rhe following day



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Koreana Hotel - www.koreanahotel.com
@. The Westin Chosun Hotel - www.echosunhotel.com
@. Plaza Hotel - www.hoteltheplaza.com
@. President Hotel - www.hotelpresident.co.kr
@. Best Western New Seoul Hotel - www.bestwesternnewseoul.co.kr
@. New Kukje Hotel - www.newkukjehotel.com
@. Irene Hotel / Irene City Hotel- www.hotelirene.co.kr

*Guesthouse
Hangul Guesthouse - www.hangulhouse.com
Seoul Hostel Center - www.seoulhostel.net
Duri House - www.durihouse.kr

*Residence
Samcheongdong minbak Guesthouse - www.minbak1.com
Raon Hanok Guesthouse - www.raonhouse34.com
Ran`s Home - www.ranshome.com
Kimchi Guesthouse - www.kimchiguesthouse.co.kr
Han Guesthouse - www.한게스트하우스.kr
Ohbok Guesthouse - www.ohbok.com
Go Woon Dang Guesthouse - www.gowoondang.com

>Cheonggyecheon (Stream)--(20)




This is a 5.84km-long stream flowing from Gwanghwamun to Dongdaemun. It was originally a natural stream, but was covered with asphalt and used as road. Then, in 2005, it was once again changed into an ecological stream after a restoration that took three years. It has attractions including 22 bridges, nine fountains and relics from the Joseon Dynasty recovered during the restoration process. Gwangtonggyo(Bridge) A bridge built during the Joseon Dynasty and excavated during the restoration process and recreated. Jeongjobanchado A mural that reproduces Jeongjobanchado, a painting of the royal parade of King Jeongjo created by famous artists of Joseon, with 5,120 tiles. Wall of Hope A wall made of 20,000 tiles on which the hopes of citizens are written. Wall of Proposal A screen through which you can propose to your loved one. Anyone can use it through advance reservation.

Cheonggyecheon Museum
Line 1 Jegi-dong Station, Exit 4 / Line 2 Yongdu Station, Exit 5. Weekdays 09:00-21:00, Weekends 09:00-19:00(Closed on Mondays)



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Sutton Hotel - www.sutton.co.kr
@. PJ Hotel - www.hotelpj.co.kr
@. Kukdo Hotel - www.hotelkukdo.com
@. Doulos Hotel - www.douloshotel.com
@. YMCA Hotel - www.ymca.or.kr/hotel
@. Irene Hotel / Irene City Hotel- www.hotelirene.co.kr

*Guesthouse
Khaosan Seoul Insadong - www.khaosan-seoul.com
Kimchee Guesthouse - www.seouldowntown.com
H2O Guesthouse - www.h2oguesthouse.com
Travelers A Hostel - www.travelersa.com

>Sungnyemun (gate)--(21)




This is Korea's National Treasure No.1. The wooden structure was completed in 1398. Also known as Namdaemun (Great South Gate), this gate served as the main entrance through the fortress walls of Hanyang. It was partially destroyed by fire in 2008 and restoration was completed in 2012.



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Millennium Hilton Hotel - www.hilton.co.kr
@. Irene Hotel / Irene City Hotel- www.hotelirene.co.kr
@. Ramada Hotel Namdaemun - www.ramadapnp.com
@. Hill House Hotel - www.hillhouse-hotel.com
@. Rex Hotel - www.hotelrex.co.kr
@. N Fourseason Hotel - www.nfourseason.com
@. Cozy Hotel - www.hotelcozy.co.kr
@. Manu Hotel - www.hotelmanu.com

*Guesthouse
Yoon/Jin Guesthouse - www.yjhostel.com
Seoul backpackers Guesthouse - www.seoulbackpackers.com
Kukje Guesthouse - www.kukjeguesthouse.com
Namdaemun Guesthouse - www.guesthouseseoul.kr

>Cheonggye Plaza - (20)

This is a plaza built where the Cheonggyecheon(Stream) starts. The plaza is widely known as the site where large groups of people gather to cheer for the Korean teams during major international sporting events such as the World Cup.



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Sutton Hotel - www.sutton.co.kr
@. PJ Hotel - www.hotelpj.co.kr
@. Kukdo Hotel - www.hotelkukdo.com
@. Doulos Hotel - www.douloshotel.com
@. YMCA Hotel - www.ymca.or.kr/hotel

*Guesthouse
Khaosan Seoul Insadong - www.khaosan-seoul.com
Kimchee Guesthouse - www.seouldowntown.com
H2O Guesthouse - www.h2oguesthouse.com
Travelers A Hostel - www.travelersa.com

>Myeongdong Cathedral - (53)

This is the main cathedral of the Archdiocese of Seoul of the Roman Catholic Church. Throughout its 110-year history, it has greatly contributed to the country`s democratization, and is known as a national symbol of democracy.



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Metro Hotel - www.metrohotel.co.kr
@. Lotte Hotel - www.lottehotel.com
@. Sejong Hotel - www.sejong.co.kr
@. Skypark Hotel 1 - www.skyparkhotel.com
@. Skypark Hotel 2 - www.skyparkhotel.com
@. Skypark Hotel 3 - www.skyparkhotel.com
@. Skypark Hotel Central - www.skyparkhotel.com
@. Savoy Hotel - www.savoyhotel.co.kr
@. Royal Hotel - www.royal.co.kr
@. J Hill Hotel - www.jhill.kr
@. Prince Hotel - www.princeseoul.co.kr
@. Pacific Hotel - www.thepacifichotel.co.kr

*Guesthouse
Nana Residence - www.nanaresidence.com
Green Residence - www.seoulgreen.co.kr
K-Pop Resedence - md.kpophouse.co.kr
EO Residence - www.residenceeo.com
@. Seoul Youth Hostel - www.seoulyh.go.kr

*Residence
Namsan Guesthouse - www.namsanguesthouse.co.kr
Myeongdong Guesthouse - www.mdguesthouse.com
New Myeondong Guesthouse - www.newmyeongdong.com
YUN Guesthouse - www.yunguest.com
ZaZa Backpackers - www.zazabackpackers.com
J-honor Guesthouse - www.j-honor.com
Crib49 Guesthouse - www.crib49.com
Happy Garden Guesthouse - www.hpgarden.com
Mama Guesthouse - www.seoulmama.com
IB Vile Guesthouse - www.ibville.com
B my Guesthouse - www.bmyguesthouse.com

>Dongdaemun Design Plaza - (55)




This is a place where you can witness various aspects of Seoul, which has been selected as a UNESCO Creative City for Design. It is under construction based on the design by a leading global architect, Zaha Hadid, and is scheduled to open in Spring 2014. Visitors can view th entire process of the project from design to construction at DDP Information Center.
10:00-21:00 (closed on holidays)



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Grand Amvassodor Hotel - www.ambatel.com
@. Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun - www.toyoko-inn.com
@. Acacia Hotel - www.hotelacacia.co.kr
@. Ramada Dongdaemun Hotel - www.ramadadm.com
@. Eastgate Tower Hotel - www.eastgatehotel.kr
Samho Hotel - www.samhohotel.com
Tong Hotel - www.tonghotel.com

*Guesthouse
@. Euljiro Co-op Residence - www.residences.co-op.co.kr
@. Western Co-op Residence - www.residences.co-op.co.kr
@. Hyundai Residence - www.hyundairs.com

*Residence
Dongdaemun INN - www.dongdaemuninn.com
Dongdaemun Hostel - www.dongdaemunhostel.com
Beige Hostel - www.hostelbeige.com
Hostel Korea - www.hostelkorea.com
Dongdaemun Hostel - www.ddmhostel.com

>Coex - (39)




This is the largest exhibition venue with numerous exhibition halls, a convention center and meeting rooms, There are various additional facilities including a five-star hotel, casino, the largest underground shopping mall in Asia, museums and an aquarium, making it a key destination for exhibitions, culture and sightseeing.

1-1 Coex Mall

The largest underground shopping mall in Asia, with more than 180 shops, 100 cafes and restaurants.

1-2 Coex Aquarium

A marine theme park that presents an underwater environment created to closely resemble nature and where visitors can see diverse aquatic animals and plants.
10:00-20:00, (Opened round-year)

1-3 Kimchi Museum

A museum built on the theme of Kimchi where artifacts related to Kimchi, the Kimchi making process and over 80 different types of kimchi are on display.
10:00-18:00 (Closed on Mondays)



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Park Hyatte Hote - www.parkhyattseoul.co.kr
@. Oakwood Premier Hotel - www.oakwoodpremier.co.kr
@. Grand Intercontinental Hotel - www.grandicparnas.com
@. Coex Intercontinental Hotel - www.iccoex.com
@. IBIS Ambassador Seoul Hotel - ibis.ambatel.com
@. The Designers Hotel - www.hotelthedesigners.com
@. Green Grass Hotel - www.greengrasshotel.com

*Guesthouse
Samsung Casaville - www.casavillesamsung.co.kr