-Themes of Seoul

(Cultural Heritage/ Landmarks/Savor Seoul/Experience Traditional Culture/Shopping/Local Shopping/Entertainment)


[ Authorship-Korea Tourism Organization ]

Experience Traditional Culture

It is easy to enjoy and learn about traditional Korean culture in Seoul. In just one or two hours, you can either be photographed in hanbok (Korean traditional clothes) with beautiful lines and colors or make kimchi firsthand. You shouldn't miss the experiences of making special articles with hanji (Korean paper) and learning to play Korean traditional instruments.

>Namsangol Hanok Village--(24)




A traditional village set up by moving well preserved Korean style houses (Hanok) to one place. Old household items are displayed in traditional houses and a pavilion and pond are built to recreate a village of the Joseon Dynasty. Visitors can observe the housing culture of Joseon and then participate in traditional cultural experience programs held every day. A demonstration of a traditional wedding ceremony takes place each Sunday.
Subway line no.3,4 Chungmuro station exit no.3,4
Apr-Oct 09:00-21:00, Nov-Mar 09:00-20:00 (Closed on Tues)


< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
Han Suite - www.hansuites.com
Seoul Youth Hostel - www.seoulyh.go.kr

*Guesthouse
Myeongdong Guesthouse - www.mdguesthouse.com
IB Vile Guesthouse - www.ibville.com
Vestin Residence Guesthouse - vestin2.gosiwonshop.com
IPS Hostel - www.ips-lounge.com
Happy Garden House - www.hpgarden.com
Nana Residence - www.nanaresidence.com
jin Guesthouse - www.jinguesthouse.com
Down Town Guesthouse - www.seouldowntown.com

>Seoul Namsan Traditional Theater




A traditional performing arts theater located in Namsangol Hanok village that offers various traditional performances and experience programs such as the Korean clothing experience and tea ceremony experience.

>Korea House--(26)




Visitors can experience the traditional Korean way of life and culture. They can also watch traditional Korean performances, enjoy royal hanjeongsik (traditional Korean set menus) or hanjeongsik buffet or take part in a Kimchi-making program. At Chiseongwan, traditional cultural experience programs that take around two hours are offered, including craft making, tea ceremony and traditional dance.
▶Subway line no.3,4 Chungmuro station exit no.3


< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Sejong Hotel - www.sejong.co.kr
@. Han Suite - www.hansuites.com
@. Metro Hotel - www.metrohotel.co.kr
@. Shilla Hotel - www.shilla.net
@. Lotte Hotel - www.lottehotel.com
@. Ibis Ambassador Myeongdong - www.ibis.ambatel.com
@. Skypark Hotel 1 - www.skyparkhotel.com
@. Skypark Hotel 2 - www.skyparkhotel.com
@. Skypark Hotel 3 - www.skyparkhotel.com
@. Skypark Hotel Central - www.skyparkhotel.com
@. Savoy Hotel - www.savoyhotel.co.kr
@. Royal Hotel - www.royal.co.kr
@. J Hill Hotel - www.jhill.kr
@. Prince Hotel - www.princeseoul.co.kr
@. Pacific Hotel - www.thepacifichotel.co.kr
@. Seoul Youth Hostel - www.seoulyh.go.kr

*Residence
Green Residence - www.seoulgreen.co.kr
K-Pop Resedence - md.kpophouse.co.kr
EO Residence - www.residenceeo.com

*Guesthouse
Namsan Guesthouse - www.namsanguesthouse.co.kr
Jin Guesthouse - www.jinguesthouse.com
Myeongdong Guesthouse - www.mdguesthouse.com
New Myeondong Guesthouse - www.newmyeongdong.com
YUN Guesthouse - www.yunguest.com
IPS Hostel - www.ips-lounge.com
ZaZa Backpackers - www.zazabackpackers.com
J-honor Guesthouse - www.j-honor.com
Crib49 Guesthouse - www.crib49.com
Happy Garden Guesthouse - www.hpgarden.com
Mama Guesthouse - www.seoulmama.com
IB Vile Guesthouse - www.ibville.com
B my Guesthouse - www.bmyguesthouse.com

>Kukkiwon--(28)




It is the mecca of taekwondo that any Korean who practices the martial art visits at least once. Visitors marvel as they see the imposing main hall whee masters of taekwondo from all over the world practice as well as when they witness its long history at Taekwondo Memorial Hall through more than 2500 reference materials on taekwondo.
Subway line no.2 Gangnam station, exit no.8 / line no.9 Nonhyeon station exit no.4,5
Mon-Fri 09:00-11:30, 13:00-17:30



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Artnouveau City Hotel - www.ancsr.com
@. Ritzcarlton Hotel - www.ddmhostel.com
@. Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Hotel - novotel.ambatel.com/gangnam
@. Samjung Hotel - www.samjunghotel.co.kr
@. Bestwestern Gangnam Hotel - www.bestwesterngangnam.com
@. Imperial Palace Hotel - www.imperialpalace.co.kr

*Residence
@. Dormy Inn Seoul - www.dormy.co.kr
@. Coatel Chereville - www.coatel.co.kr
@. M Chereville - www.mchereville.com

*Guesthouse
Guest House Korea - www.guesthouseinkorea.com
The Ja Guesthouse - www.theja.co.kr
Gangnam Guesthouse - www.gangnamstay.com

>Bukchon Hanok Village--(25)




This district between Gyeongbokgung palace and Changdeokgung palace is packed with over 900 Korean traditional houses. Members of the royal family and noblemen lived here during the Joseon period. As it retains the city's old appearance, it is a popular filming location for movies and TV dramas.



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Guesthouse
Anguk Guesthouse - www.anguk-house.com
126st Mansion - www.126mansion.com

*Korean Traditional House
Seoul Guesthouse - www.seoul110.com
Myeonggajae Guesthouse - www.myeonggajae.com
Bukchon Guesthouse - www.bukchon72.com
Maru Guesthouse - www.bukchonguesthouse.com
Doo Guesthouse - www.dooguesthouse.com
Tea Guesthouse - www.teaguesthouse.com
Kundaemunjip Guesthouse - www.kundaemunjip.com
Mumum Guesthouse - www.mumum.net
Sophia Guesthouse - www.sophiagh.com
Hyosundang Guesthouse - www.hyosundang.com
Moda Guesthouse - www.modaguesthouse.com
Manaedaong Guesthouse - www.manaedang.com
Rak Ko Jae Guesthouse - www.rkj.co.kr
Seoul Story House - www.seoulstoryhouse.com

>Samcheonggak--(27)




Six traditional Korean houses located in the forest of Bugaksan Mt. where visitors can watch traditional performances and enjoy tea in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere.
Subway line no.2,3 Euljiro 3-ga station, exit no.8
Tue-Sat 16:00, 20:00, Sun 16:00 (Closed on Mons)



< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Guesthouse
Anguk Guesthouse - www.anguk-house.com
126st Mansion - www.126mansion.com

*Korean Traditional House
Samcheongdong minbak Guesthouse - www.minbak1.com
Samcheong-dong Hanok Guesthouse - www.samcheongdong-house.com
Bukchon Guesthouse - www.bukchon72.com
Doo Guesthouse - www.dooguesthouse.com
Tea Guesthouse - www.teaguesthouse.com
Kundaemunjip Guesthouse - www.kundaemunjip.com
Mumum Guesthouse - www.mumum.net
Sophia Guesthouse - www.sophiagh.com
Hyosundang Guesthouse - www.hyosundang.com
Moda Guesthouse - www.modaguesthouse.com
Myeonggajae Guesthouse - www.myeonggajae.com
Maru Guesthouse - www.bukchonguesthouse.com
Manaedaong Guesthouse - www.manaedang.com
Rak Ko Jae Guesthouse - www.rkj.co.kr
Seoul Guesthouse - www.seoul110.com
Seoul Story House - www.seoulstoryhouse.com

>Jogyesa temple--(30)

This is a temple representing Korean Buddhism. It offers a temple life program for foreigners. On Buddha's birthday, the Lotus Lantern festival is held in the Jongno and Insa-dong areas with Jogyesa temple as the starting point of the parade.






< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Somerset Palace Hotel - www.somersetpalace.co.kr
@. Center Mark Hotel - www.centermarkhotel.co.kr
@. Aventree Hotel - www.aventreehotel.com
@. Sunbee Hotel - www.hotelsunbee.com
@. Frasersuites Hotel - www.frasersuitesseoul.co.kr
53 Seoul Hotel - www.seoul53hotel.com
Tomgi Hotel - www.hoteltomgi.com
2heaven Hotel - www.hotel2heaven.co.kr
Pop Hotel - www.hotelpop.co.kr
Noble Hotel - www.noblehotel.co.kr
Stay in Gam - www.stayingam.com
Citypark Hotel - www.cityparkhotel.net
@. YMCA Hotel - www.ymca.or.kr/hotel

*Guesthouse
Ciara920 Guesthouse - www.ciara920.com
Lavinia Guesthouse - www.laviniakorea.com
Jongnowon Guesthouse - www.jongnowon.com
Banana Backpackers - www.bananabackpackers.com
Sunshime Guesthouse - www.sunshineguesthouse.com
Guesthouse Korea - www.guesthouseinkorea.com
Yim`s House - www.seoulbusinesshotel.com
Moon Guesthouse - www.moonguesthouse.com
Beewon Guesthouse - www.beewonguesthouse.com
Yeha Guesthouse - www.yehadoye.com

>Bongeunsa temple--(31)

The temple was built in 794. During the Joseon dynasty, it was the largest temple in Seoul, and the magnificent splendor of the old days still remains here. The temple, where people can experience Buddhist culture in the center of the city, is highly popular among tourists.






< Recommendation of Accommodations nearby >

*Hotel
@. Park Hyatte Hotel - www.parkhyattseoul.co.kr
@. Oakwood Premier Hotel - www.oakwoodpremier.co.kr
@. Grand Intercontinental Hotel - www.grandicparnas.com
@. Coex Intercontinental Hotel - www.iccoex.com
@. IBIS Ambassador Seoul Hotel - ibis.ambatel.com/seoul
@. The Designers Hotel - www.hotelthedesigners.com
@. Green Grass Hotel - www.greengrasshotel.com

*Residence
Samsung Casaville - www.casavillesamsung.co.kr