-Themes of Seoul

(Cultural Heritage/ Landmarks/Savor Seoul/Experience Traditional Culture/Shopping/Local Shopping/Entertainment)


[ Authorship-Korea Tourism Organization ]

Cultural Heritage

Seoul - Korea's capital and a metropolis with a population of over 10,000,000. However, beneath its surface lies the 500-year history of the Joseon Dynasty. It has five royal palaces where kings and queens used to reside, as well as royal shrines and royal tombs that have served as their spaces after life. Seoul is one of few cities where you can encounter long history and culture in the city center.

>Changyeonggung palace--(2)

The palace was built in 1483 by King Seongjong. Curing the Japanese colonial ara, a zoo and a park were set up in the court, but the palace has regained its old splendor after restoration. Honghwamun, its main gate, and Myeongjeongjeon, the main hall, are renowned as representative examples of the 17th century architectural style of the Joseon Dynasty.
Subway line no.4 Hyehwa station, exit no.4.
Apr-Oct. 09:00-18:00, Nov&Mar. 09:00-17:30, Dec-Feb. 09:00-17:00 (Closed on Mondays)



*Guesthouse
Backpackers Mr.sea - www.backpackermrsea.com
Inside Backpackers - www.backpackersinside.com
Goldenpond Guesthouse - www.goldenpond.co.kr
Bong House - www.bonghouse.net
Korea Central Backpackers - www.koreacentralbackpackers.com
Fully Guesthouse - www.fullyguesthouse.com
B&J Guesthouse - www.openguesthouse.com
Windroad Guesthouse - www.windroad.co.kr

>Gyeonghuigung palace--(5)

It was an enormous palace with more than 100 halls during the Joseon Dynasty. At present, the main hall, foundation stones and a dense forest at the back of the palace remain, showing the traces of its old days. Thus, it is often used as a filming location for historical dramas. Each year, musicians set in royal court are performed in front of Sungjeongjeon hall, breaking the stillness of the palace.
Subway line no.5 Seodaemun station, exit no.4.
Weekdays 09:00-18:00, Weekends&holidays 09:00-18:00 (Closed on Mondays)





*Hotel
@. Koreana Hotel - www.koreanahotel.com

*Residence
@. Fraser Place - www.fraserplace.co.kr
@. Vabien Suites I - www.vabiensuite.com
@. Vabien Suites II - www.vabien2.com

*Guesthouse
Hangul Guesthouse - www.hangulhouse.com
Seoul Hostel Center - www.seoulhostel.net
Duri House - www.durihouse.kr
Bangnang Hostel - www.bangranghostel.com

*Korean Traditional House
Raon Hanok Guesthouse - www.raonhouse34.com
Ran`s Home - www.ranshome.com
Kimchi Guesthouse - www.kimchiguesthouse.co.kr
Han Guesthouse - www.한게스트하우스.kr
Ohbok Guesthouse - www.ohbok.com
Go Woon Dang Guesthouse - www.gowoondang.com

>Royal Tombs of the Joseon Dynasty

Tombs of kings and queens of the Joseon dynasty; among the total 44 tombs, 40 are registered as UNESCO Cultural Heritage sites, and six of them are located in Seoul. Not only the stone figures and halls but also natural surroundings of the tombs are well preserved, showing the royal culture and the understanding of afterlife of the Joseon Dynasty.

*Seonjeongneung--(8)

*Heonilleung--(9)

*Uireung--(10)

*Jeongneung--(11)

*Taegangneung--(12)

*Yeonsangunmyo--(13)